Our Programme

We are delighted to announce that we are now able to meet in the church hall and we look forward to seeing you all again.

Our evenings start with refreshments from 7.30pm followed by the speaker or entertainment from 8pm.

The Church has covid related measures in place which we have been asked to adopt i.e. social distancing and wearing of masks until seated. We will be using the entire church in order to make social distancing easier.

Future Meeting Dates for your diary 2021 - 7.30pm (At Christchurch Hall)

Oct 6th       -  Les Alouettes - From Creation To Present Day.  By Cathy Wright, head teacher of this Saturday school for children who speak French at home. 

Oct 20th    -  Interim AGM followed by Scrabble in French

Nov 3rd      -  Dr Fabrizio Casale will speak in French and English on the History of the Essex County Hospital

Nov 17th    -  Talk by Carole Deux on Champagne

Dec 1st        - Talk by David and Jan Fallows on Abbé Pierre

Dec 15th      - Fête de Noel

Previous Meetings 2021

Sept 15th - Gwendal Moele and 'Bof' (a fabulous Essex-based traditional French and Breton four-piece band) will entertain us with a wonderful evening of traditional French and Breton music and singing (At Christchurch Hall)

Jun 27th - Summer Social

Jun 2nd - Ian Sydenham - 'Napoleon - Héros or Tyran?' (via Zoom)

May 5th - Frank Gill - 'My Life and How Languages Have Changed It’ (via Zoom)

Apr 7th - Julie Langevin - 'La Reunion' (via Zoom)

Mar 10th - A presentation evening from two of our members (via Zoom)

Feb 3rd - La Rentrée (With A Difference) (via Zoom)

Previous Meetings

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Sadly all of the later planned events had to be postponed as of 18th March 2020 due to the Coronavirus situation.

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

2020 EVENTS

Wed 4th March - French Conversation – Informal evening

Wed 19th February - The French Revolution

Wed 5th February - Riviera at War

Wed 15th January - Comedian Raymond Devos

 

2019 EVENTS

Wed 4th December - Fête de Noel

Wed 20th November - Avignon and The Colchester Twinning Society

Wed 6th November - Becoming Bilingual

Wed 16th October - How I became a Francophile

Wed 2nd October - Life and Times of Toulouse Lautrec

Wed 18th September - La Rentrée

Wed 19th June - Fête Estivale

Wed 5th June - Le Tour de France

Wed 15th May - Deux Icônes Françaises